Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
09 Dec

TEST "A JUDGEMENT IN STONE" - CORRECTION

Publié par Sandrine CHARAVY  - Catégories :  #TERMINALES S

ENGLISH TEST


A JUDGEMENT IN STONE


1. Introduce the following document


http://img1.fantasticfiction.co.uk/images/n9/n48024.jpg

 1999

 

This document is the book cover of a novel entitled We’ll meet again, written by the famous American novelist Mary Higgins Clark and published in 1999. Mary Higgins Clark is well-known for her thrilling stories.

 

2. Questions about “Judgement in Stone “

  • Explain why Melinda does not think that Eunice can be illiterate


Melinda Coverdale belongs to a rich social background. For instance, her family hires a maid. We can suppose that Melinda is not used to meeting people from a different social background therefore she has probably never met somebody who cannot read.  She is an English student at university and so she certainly spends her time with literate and cultivated people. She couldn’t expect Eunice to be illiterate.

 

  • Imagine you were Eunice, how would you react? Would you try ton conceal your disability? (50 words)

 

If I were Eunice, I think I would be ashamed of myself. I probably would do as Eunice, i.e (= that is to say) conceal my disability from the people around me.  I would pretend not to have my reading glasses in order people not to have doubts or to guess my disability. On the other hand, I could confide myself and my secret to someone I would trust. Admitting my disability would release me and I would not have to conceal it anymore.

 


3. Linguistic activities:

  • Translate :


Eunice est la bonne de la famille Coverdale. Elle vient d’un milieu pauvre.

Eunice is the Coverdale’s maid. She comes from a poor background.

 

Melinda a besoin de l’aide d’Eunice. Elle veut qu’elle lui lise le quizz.

Melinda needs Eunice’s help. She wants her to read the quizz.

 

Si elle avait eu de l’argent, Eunice aurait pu faire des études.

If she had had money, Eunice could have studied / gone to school.

 

Eunice se sent tellement mal-à-l’aise qu’elle rougit.

Eunice feels so ill-at-ease that she flushes / blushes.

 

  •   Expressing regrets:


Si seulement ses parents avaient eu plus d’argent…

She wishes her parents had had more money.

 

Eunice regrette de ne pas avoir avoué (admit) plus tôt son irfirmité à Melinda.

She wishes she had admitted her disability to Melinda earlier.

 

Elle regrette de ne pas savoir lire.

If only she could read / She wishes she were able to read.

 

Melinda regrette d’avoir demandé à Eunice de lire le quizz.

Melinda wishes she hadn’t asked to Eunice to read the quizz.

 

Commenter cet article

Archives

À propos

Ce blog pédagogique est adressé aux élèves du lycée Jacob Holtzer mais également aux parents qui souhaitent découvrir les différentes activités menées en classe et les projets proposés aux élèves de la cité scolaire.